10th NASS: 109 Senators-elect, 359 Reps-elect take oath of office Tuesday

10th NASS: 109 Senators-elect, 359 Reps-elect take oath of office Tuesday

Barring any last minute change in plan, the 10th National Assembly comprising 109 senators-elect and 359 Reps-elect, will be inaugurated next Tuesday, June 13, 2023.

This was disclosed in a statement signed by the Clerk to the National Assembly, Sani Tambawal, on Thursday.

During the occasion, the elected senators Representatives are expected to take their oath of office.

Tambuwal further stated that the senators-elect and members-elect are to visit the Senate conference room 231 and the House of Representatives conference room 301, respectively, with copies of their code of conduct clearance, certificates of return and valid identity cards for registration on Monday, June 12, at 10:00 am.

He also stated that only the senators-elect and the members-elect will be given access to the legislative chambers.

“Due to the ongoing renovation of the two chambers, senators-elect and Honourable members-elect are to come along with only one guest for the ceremony, who will be seated at the arcade,” he said.

According to the Vanguard, shortly after the February 25 general elections, a member-elect from Taraba State, Isma’ila Maihanchi who was elected to represent Jalingo, Yerro, and Zing Federal Constituency died, reducing the available number from 360 to 359.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button