63rd Independence Day Celebration: SGF George Akume heads15 members anniversary committee

63rd Independence Day Celebration: SGF George Akume heads15 members anniversary committee

A 15-member Inter-ministerial committee headed by Secretary to the Governnment of the Federation George Akume is to plan the nation’s 63rd Independence Day anniversary.

The committee was inaugurated in Abuja yesterday. Activities lined up for the event were also rolled out.

Members of the committee are Mohammed Malagi, minister of Information and National Orientation; Olubunmi Tunji-Ojo(Interior minister); Wale Edun (Finance and Coordinating Minister of the Economy); Yusuf Tuggar(Foreign of Affairs minister); Nyesom Wike(Federal Capital Territory minister ); Nuhu Ribadu( National Security Adviser); Kayode Egbetokun (Inspector-General of Police); Yusuf Bichi (Director-General, Department of State Services) and Commander, Guards Brigade Adebisi Onasanya.

Others are the Permanent Secretary, General Services Office, Permanent Secretary, Special Services Office, Permanent Secretary’, Ecological Project Office, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Health and Permanent Secretary, Political and Economic Affairs Office.

Akume said that the programmes which are subject to ratification would commence with a world press conference on September 25.

There would be also be a “church service and presidential broadcast on 1st October; Juma’at service on 29th September; symposium/public lecture on 28th September; and Parade on 2nd October, 2023.”

Akume, who inaugurated the committee explained that the anniversary would provide the nation an opportunity to reflect on the contributions and sacrifices of heroes and heroines who fought for its independence.

The government, according to him, will also showcase its achievements in dealing with the social and economic challenges confronting the nation.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button