BREAKING; Seven Commissioners, Governor’s Chief of Staff resign from cabinet

BREAKING; Seven Commissioners, Governor’s Chief of Staff resign

No fewer than seven commissioners have resigned from the cabinet of Delta State governor, Ifeanyi Okowa.

According to reports, the list also included the Chief of Staff to the governor Festus Agas, while the mass resignations were reportedly triggered by Section 84 (12) of the Electoral Act 2022, which stipulates that political appointees must resign their appointments before participating in the 2023 general elections.

It was gathered that some of the Commissioners have resigned to vie for elective positions, while others have done so to participate as statutory delegates at the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) convention.

Those who have resigned their appointments are: Evelyn Oboro, Basil Ganagana, Christian Onogba, Julius Egbedi, Ovie Oghoore, Jonathan Ukodhiko and Chika Ossai.

Oboro resigned as Commissioner for Water Resources Development to seek ticket into the House of Representatives (Okpe, Sapele and Uvwie Constituency).

He had served as a member of the Green Chamber and one-time Chairman of Uvwie Local Government Area.

Ganagana, a former Delta State House of Assembly Deputy Speaker, served in the Okowa-led Exco as the Commissioner for Transport.

Sources close to the former lawmaker disclosed that he is running for the Patani/Bomadi Federal Constituency. Ukodhiko, the Commissioner for Power and Energy, seeking the Isoko Federal Constituency ticket.

Onogba resigned as Commissioner for the Environment to seek the ticket for the Ethiope West State Constituency (House of Assembly).

Ossai, the Commissioner for Primary Education resigned to run for the Ndokwa East Constituency in the State Assembly.

It was unclear if Egbedi and Oghoore, resigned their appointments as commissioners for Project Monitoring and Audit and Agriculture and Natural Resources to seek elective positions in 2023.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button