Govt warns three communities against violence over boundary disputes

Govt warns three communities against violence over boundary disputes

Residents of Ipoti Ekiti, Ejiyan Ekiti and Owatedo Ekiti have been warned to desist from any violent activity that could lead to a breakdown of law and order in their communities.

Ekiti State Deputy Governor, Otunba Bisi Egbeyemi, gave the warning in a statement issued by his Special Assistant (Media), Odunayo Ogunmola, on Thursday.

He said the state government still stands by its earlier directive that the three towns should refrain from erecting any structure or carrying out any action on their disputed boundaries until the conclusion of demarcation.

The Deputy Governor enjoined the three towns to toe the line of peace and cooperate with the state government to ensure an amicable resolution of the boundary dispute in the interest of peace and tranquillity.

He said: “Our directive that no individual, groups or towns should carry out economic or social activities along the disputed boundaries among the three towns still stands.

“Government is determined to ensure a peaceful resolution of the dispute and the Technical Committee has been given the mandate to carry out the proper demarcation of the boundaries and submit its report.

“The communities must wait for the committee to conclude its assignment. The full wrath of the law shall be visited on any individual or group in any of the towns that go against the directive, ” he added.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button