Today22 March, 2023

House of Reps Speaker, Gbajabiamila wins constituency seat in Lagos

House of Reps Speaker, Gbajabiamila wins constituency seat in Lagos

Speaker of the House of Representatives, Rep. Femi Gbajabiamila, has hailed his constituents in the Surulere 1 Federal Constituency of Lagos State for electing him for the 6th term.

Gbajabiamila emerged victorious during the presidential and National Assembly elections that took place on Saturday.

He polled 19,717 votes and defeated his closest opponent, Bosun Jeje of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), who scored 5,121 votes.

Speaker Gbajabiamila said he remained grateful to the people of Surulere 1 for giving him the sixth term mandate, noting that he would not disappoint them.

The speaker according to a statement from his office Sunday night said he would continue to work assiduously and bring more developmental projects to Surulere and beyond.

He said: “I am immensely grateful to the people of Surulere for their overwhelming support. I do not take your support for granted.

“As your representative for the past 20 years, I have always protected your interest. I am proud of you as my constituents. I thank our teeming supporters, our Surulere APC leaders, party members, CDAs and residents for their massive support.

“This victory is not mine alone. It is a victory for democracy. Surulere has made history by this sixth mandate given to me, which would definitely spur me to do more for you”.

It will be recalled that Gbajabiamila was first elected to the House of Representatives in 2003 to represent Surulere 1 Federal Constituency.

Since then, he has won elections in the subsequent 5 election cycles, including that of yesterday.

He remained the only lawmaker from South West geopolitical zone to have been elected six times to represent his constituency.

Gbajabiamila served as Minority Whip, Minority Leader, Opposition Leader, and Majority Leader before getting elected as Speaker in 2019.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *