No going back on rejection of Sanwo-Olu’s 17 Commissioner nominees, Lagos lawmakers insist

No going back on rejection of Sanwo-Olu’s17 Commissioner nominees, Lagos lawmakers insist


The Lagos State House of Assembly has said that there is no going back on its rejection of no fewer than 17 cabinet nominees sent by Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu for screening and approval.

Recall that the House had last Wednesday, confirmed 22 out of the 39 cabinet nominees sent by Governor Sanwo-Olu, rejecting 17 nominees.

Those not confirmed by the House include: Mrs. Folashade Adefisayo Prof. Akin Abayomi, Mr. Yomi Oluyomi Mrs. Folashade Ambrose, Ms. Barakat Bakare, Mr. Gbenga Omotosho, Engr. Olalere Odusote; Dr. Rotimi Fashola, Mrs. Bolaji Cecilia Dada, Mr. Sam Egube; Mr. Olalekan Fatodu, Mrs. Solape Hammond, Mr. Mosopefolu George, Engr. Aramide Adeyoye, Mr. Seun Osiyemi, Mr Rotimi Ogunwuyi, Dr. Olumide Oluyinka.

Those confirmed include: Layode Ibrahim, Mr. Mobolaji Ogunlende, Dr. Dolapo Fasawe, Bola Olumegbon, Mr. Idris Aregbe, Ms. Abisola Ruth Olusanya, Mr. Moruf Akinderu Fatai, Mr. Kayode Bolaji-Roberts, Engr. Abiola Olowu, Mrs. Toke Benson-Awoyinka, Dr. Oreoluwa Finnih- Awokoya, Mr. Yakub Adedayo Alebiosu, Mr. Lawal Pedro SAN, Mr. Tunbosun Alake, Mr. Gbenga Oyerinde, Dr. Adekunle Olayinka, Dr. Jide Babatunde, Mr. Afolabi Ayantayo Mr. Tokunbo Wahab, Mr. Olakunle Rotimi-Akodu, Mr. Jamiu Alli-Balogun Mr. Abdulkabir Ogungbo.

“We will continue to do our job, we will continue to do our oversight function,” Obasa had maintained.

Speaker of the House, Mudashiru Obasa, who presided over the resumption of sitting on Monday, announced the decision of the House, despite pressures from different quarters to have the decision rescinded.

Obasa had said the confirmation followed rigorous and detailed screening of the nominees by a ad-hoc committee led by the Chief Whip of the House, Hon. Fatai Mojeed.

The speaker commended the committee for its effectiveness and urged the confirmed nominees to always remember that they are in office to serve the people of the State and not individuals.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button