Subsidy Removal: Government announces increament in Workers’ Salaries

Subsidy Removal: Government announces increament in Workers’ Salaries

The Ebonyi State Government yesterday announced an increment in Worker’s Salary by N10,000 across board to cushion the effect of the removal of fuel subsidy recently announced by President Bola Tinubu.

Briefing Journalists shortly after the State Executive Council meeting at the New Executive Council Chambers, Government House Abakaliki, the State Commissioner for Information and State Orientation, Mr. Jude Okpor said that the State Governor, Rt. Hon Francis Nwifuru has mandated the policy be implemented immediately.

“The issue of workers’ salaries was raised and deliberated on by Exco. The Executive Council led by the Chairman of Council approved that N10,000 be added to every worker’s salary in the state to cushion the effect of fuel subsidy removal.

Mr. Okpor said that the State Executive Council also approved the employment of 1454 Ebonyi State indigenes into the state civil service to fill in vacancies created in the services over the years.

“Governor Nwifuru has mandated the SSG, Professor Grace Umezuruike to look into the finances of the State University (EBSU) to know what comes out and goes into the University to help determine the upwards review of subvention to the University.

Mr. Okpor disclosed that the Council also deliberated on the crises in some parts of the state and set up a 17-member-committee with a view to resolving them.

He said that the committee is to look into the Ezza Effium and Effium crisis in Ohaukwu local government area, sinkwo/Abaomege crisis in Onicha local government area and Amana/ Ikwo in Ezza South and Ikwo Local Government Area among other areas in the state that has a crisis.

Mr. Okpor maintained that, according to the Governor, some of the proposed members could be burdened by conflict of interest as some are directly or remotely related to some of the parties involved in the crises.

He noted that the Governor also suggested that only people of unquestionable character and proven integrity will be nominated into the committee.

Some of the members includes, Bishop Emeritus Catholic Diocese of Abakaliki, Bishop Nnachi Okoro, traditional rulers and other members of the State Executive Council

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button