Today22 March, 2023

Supreme Court verdict on Naira; Resign from office now – APC tells Malami, Emefiele

Supreme Court verdict on Naira; Resign from office now – APC tells Malami, Emefiele

Following a judgment delivered today by the Supreme Court on the controversial cashless policy of the federal government, the All Progressives Congress (APC) has called for the immediate resignation of the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of the Federation, Abubakar Malami, and Central Bank of Nigeria governor, Mr Godwin Emefiele.

The party made the demand in a statement issued by its National Vice Chairman, Northwest, Salihu Moh. Lukman, in Abuja today.

The party said: “Given the injurious nature of the consequences of the cashless policy of the Federal Government as was implemented thus far, and the damage of the Supreme Court ruling to the profile of President Muhammadu Buhari, the Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria CBN, Mr Godwin Emefiele and Attorney General of the Federation, Mr Abubakar Malami must take personal responsibility for this act of illegality by the Federal Government. In advanced democracies, public officers who commit such acts of illegality voluntarily resign from their appointments.

“Therefore, if indeed, the cashless policy of the Federal Government was supposedly designed to conform with extant legal provisions of the Nigerian Federation, now that it turned out in the direct opposite, both the CBN Governor, Mr Emefiele and the Attorney General of the Federation, Mr Malami should accept the limitations of both their knowledge of the law and commitment to democracy by resigning from their respective offices forthwith.

“Rule of law is fundamental to democracy and individuals who flagrantly violate the laws or promote acts that breach the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria must not be tolerated”, the party stated.

It further noted that: “By this ruling of the Supreme Court as delivered by Justice Emmanuel Akomaye, the old N1,000, N500 and N200 remain legal tender and Nigerians are free to have access to all their monies deposited in Nigerian banks without any form of restrictions as contained in the Federal Government cashless policy.

“On behalf of our party leaders and members from North-West, we salute our three Governors, Mallam Nasir Ahmed El-Rufai, Alh. Yahaya Bello and Alh. Bello Matawalle, respectively of Kaduna, Kogi and Zamfara states for their courage and initiative to challenge the action of the Federal Government in the Supreme Court. It is a patriotic duty to challenge the policy of the government, which unfortunately plunges Nigerians into hardship and unimaginable shock, notwithstanding partisan affiliations. By so doing, our leaders in APC led by Mallam Nasir, Alh. Yahaya Bello and Alh. Matawalle has once again demonstrated a superior commitment to democracy.

“We call on Nigerians to take note of the fact that the crusade against the Federal Government’s cashless policy was led by APC, not minding the attempt to sensationally politicise it to the benefit of opposition political parties and their candidates in this election season. It is gratifying that Nigerians resisted the antics of subversive politicians who wanted to use such crude methods, including inflicting untold hardship and pains on Nigerians to provoke citizens into voting against the APC during the February 25 Presidential and National Assembly elections.

“We commend and salute Nigerians for their faith in our party, APC and determination to support our party and our candidates during the 2023 elections. We are indeed confident that Nigerians across all the 36 states of the Federation will reaffirm this confidence during the Governorship and States’ Houses of Assembly election on Saturday, March 11, 2023”, it added.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *