Today24 October, 2021

Three APC Senators, 4 Reps members team up to take over party from Governor

The three Kano senators — Kabiru Gaya (APC-Kano South), Ibrahim Shekarau (APC-Kano Central) and Barau Jibrin (APC-Kano North) — have teamed up with some members of the House of Representatives to take control of the ruling party in the state in the forthcoming congress.

The members, led by the chairman House Committee on Security, Sha’aban Sharada (APC-Kano Municipal), are Tijjani Jobe (APC-Dawakin Tofa/Tofa/Rimingado); Haruna Dederi (APC-Karaye/Rogo) and; Nasiru Auduwa (APC-Gabasawa/Gezawa).

The three senators and four members met on Tuesday at the Asokoro residence of former governor of state, Ibrahim Shekarau.

Insiders said the meeting borders on how the governor, Abdullahi Ganduje, cornered state resources and party affairs for himself and his family and the need to salvage the state and the party from his grip.

A source who preferred not to be named said the Senators and the House of Reps members also raised concerns on alleged corruption and mismanagement of public resources in the state.

According to the source, the parliamentarians also strategized on how to take the control of the party in the state in the forthcoming congress.

It was learned that the second meeting would be held again today at the same venue.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *